Series Reading Order: Dark Hunter & Chronicles of Nick

This is the reading order for the Dark Hunter series by Sherrilyn Kenyon:

  • *Dragonswan  (Sebastian & Channon)
  • Fantasy Lover  (Julian & Grace)
  • Night Pleasures  (Kyrian & Amanda)
  • Night Embrace  (Talon & Sunshine)
  • *Phantom Lover  (V’Aiden & Erin)
  • Dance With the Devil  (Zarek & Astrid)
  • Kiss of the Night  (Wulf & Cassandra)
  • Night Play  (Vane & Bride)
  • *Winter Born  (Dante & Pandora)
  • Seize the Night  (Valerius & Tabitha)
  • Sins of the Night  (Alexion & Danger)
  • Unleash the Night  (Wren & Marguerite)
  • Dark Side of the Moon  (Ravyn & Susan)
  • *A Hard Days Night Searcher (Rafael & Celena)
  • *Until Death Do Us Part  (Velkan & Esperetta)
  • The Dream Hunter  (Arik & Geary)
  • *Fear the Darkness  (free Nick short story)
  • Devil May Cry  (Sin & Katra)
  • Upon the Midnight Clear  (Aidan & Leta)
  • Dream Chaser  (Xypher & Simone)
  • Acheron  (Ash & Tori)
  • One Silent Night  (Stryker & Zephyra)
  • *Shadow of the Moon  (Fury & Angelina)
  • Dream Warrior  (Cratus & Delphine)
  • Bad Moon Rising  (Fang & Aimee)
  • No Mercy  (Dev & Sam)
  • Retribution  (Sundown & Abigail)
  • The Guardian  (Seth & Lydia)
  • Time Untime (Ren & Kateri)
  • Styxx (Styxx & Bethany)
  • Son of No One (Cadegan & Jo)
  • Dragonbane (Max & Seraphina)
  • Dragonmark (Illarion & Edilyn)
  • Dragonsworn (Falcyn & Medea)

This is the reading order for the Chronicles of Nick:

*Denotes short story/ novella

The Dark Hunter series can be started with either Fantasy Lover or Night Pleasures.  There is some character overlap between the two books, but the Dark Hunter mythology is not introduced until Night Pleasures.  Dragonswan exists outside of the main story arc and can be read at any time.


  1. This design is incredible! You certainly know how to keep a reader entertained.

    Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start
    my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Great job. I really enjoyed what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it.
    Too cool!

  2. theirs a new one its called instinct

  3. Thank you for this! My goal is to finish reading all these books.

  4. Mary Castillo says:

    I love your books I have enjoyed the audios, I wish I could buy them.

  5. Mercedes says:

    I love your blog.
    I am towards the end of the JR Ward “Black Dagger Brotherhood” and this is the next series on my list. I am glad for your insight into the order of the stories and other tips.
    I would like to suggest G.A. Aiken’s “Dragon Kin” series for review if you have the time.
    Thank you for your great work.

  6. How does The Chronicles of Nick fit into the Dark-Hunter reading order?

    • Jen at Red Hot Books says:

      The Chronicles of Nick books all take place in a timeline ahead of the Dark Hunter books. However, I think they’d be best enjoyed after reading the Dark Hunter series because major changes in Nick’s character (in the DH timeline) are referenced in the CoN books. There’s time travel/alternate dimension type stuff going on.

      • Doris Davis says:

        In what book did nick move forward in time?

        • Nick comes back in time from after all the current DH books to change his past to avoid a terrible future. This makes the CoN books happen before the DH books, but in a different timeline.

  7. Leslie Hamilton says:

    I read Acheron first, per my Mom’s suggestion so I could learn who Ash is in the series. Now, I am trying to figure out which order to read the books in so I can have the storyline in order. Is this list the storyline order, or just the publication order? Thank you for your helpful input.

    • Jamie Davies says:

      This is the correct order for the series. However, I forget where Nick’s books fit into it. I read the first 3 after Acheron, I believe. Hope that helps some.

  8. Feather Williams says:

    When do we get the rest of the chronicles of nick book on audible?? I can’t wait!!

Speak Your Mind


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.