Archives for May 2014

Review: Second Star by Alyssa B. Sheinmel

second starReviewed by Janell

Disclosure: I’m kind of a Peter Pan fangirl, in the sense that I have a weird crush on the Disney version of Peter Pan. I may have a ceramic figurine and a Barbie doll of him displayed in my basement. However, I don’t love him enough to read the original books (I tried, once, but he was too young, and my love for him felt wrong in that version), so I wouldn’t say I’m an expert on any Pan lore outside of the Disney movie. But, I’m in favor of any riff on the story that involves lurve, and this particular novel kind of sort of hinted at it. [Read more…]

Review: The Bastard by Inez Kelley

bastardReviewed by Carrie

Fans of BDB, Lords of the Underworld or Lords of Deliverance, you’re going to want to pay attention because this book is right up your alley!  Kelley has put out a fresh twist to a group of badass warriors, except that these warriors are not paranormal but straight from the annals of history. [Read more…]

Review: Price of a Kiss by Linda Kage

price of a kissReviewed by Shelly

I’m a big fan of Linda Kage’s work but I’ve stayed away from the YA/NA categories in the past because the age just seems a bit young for me especially with what I perceive the content to be. After reading this story, I’m thrilled that this is one of those times when I’m, yet again, glad to be wrong. Reese Randall has just moved to the area and is a freshman at the local college where Mason Lowe also attends. After legally changing her name and moving across the country to get away from her stalker/abuser/ex-boyfriend Jeremy, Reese feels that she’s in a safe place living above the garage of her aunt and uncle. Her cousin, Eva, who also attends the same college tells Reese that not only is ‘Hotness’ Mason out of her league – he’s also a gigolo. [Read more…]

Review: City of Lost Souls by Cassandra Clare

city of lost soulsReviewed by Jen

I liked this installment better than the last one.  It still doesn’t quite have the same epic resonance as the initial trilogy, but Cassandra Clare has definitely upped the ante in this second arc with the resurrection of Sebastian. He doesn’t feel the same caliber of villain as Valentine, to be sure, but part of that is due to the fact we see quite a lot of him here, and almost the entire time, he’s wearing his mask of humanity.

It’s been about two weeks since Jace brought Sebastian back to life and the two have been missing ever since.  All of the Clave members have been searching for them, to no avail.  [Read more…]

Review: Trusting an Angel by Missy Jane

trusting an angelReviewed by Shelly

When I read the blurb on this one and saw scarred heroine and I was immediately captivated. Great premise, I thought, but the execution wasn’t what I expected. I expected a lot of angst from the heroine because of the scarring. I expected a hero/angel who had a bit more…I don’t know but intensity and complexity are the only words I can think of. I mean these angels have been around since the beginning of time and considering their function (to protect humans,) I assumed I would get a certain amount of decorum and yes-even formality, as I would think that there is a need to separate themselves from the humans. I’m thinking conflict of interest if they grow attached. Then there’s the location – should all seven of the archangels be based in the same town? Shouldn’t they be spread out a bit more? These are archangels; they’re the best of the best and their ability to kick butt is most high. I don’t know, but these are the things that make sense to me. [Read more…]

Review: Absolution by Angela McGurk

ABSOLUTIONReviewed by Shelly

Angela McGurk’s story is outside of what I would normally read. I’m not big on vampire stories because very rarely will I be sympathetic to anyone who is not human. In many books in the genre, I find that vampires tend to be braggadocious with egos that are just too much for me. This was a good story. There were a lot, I mean a lot of things, motives especially, that I didn’t understand, but overall it’s a well-done story. [Read more…]

Review: Against the Dawn by Amanda Bonilla

against the dawnReviewed by Jen

I am such a fan of this series.  And I am so glad Amanda Bonilla decided to continue with Darian’s story. Crave the Darkness left us in a dark place.  Darian had been manipulated by an incubus and nearly raped.  She and Ty were apart.  Xander wanted her for his own, and he was ready to drop the ax on Tyler for attacking him at a party.  The battle was won, but the characters we cared about were shredded.  We needed an opportunity to rebuild and Against the Dawn gives us that chance. [Read more…]

Giveaway: Sixth Grave on the Edge

sixth

Charley Davidson fans, listen up! Sixth Grave on the Edge is out tomorrow, and we’ve got a sneak peek for you. Check out this fabulous excerpt and enter the Rafflecopter form below for your chance to win a copy!

 

SIXTH GRAVE ON THE EDGE-Excerpt

 

Chapter One

A blank is the only thing I draw well.

—T-shirt

 

“A girl, a mocha latte, and a naked dead man walk into a bar,” I said, turning to the naked dead man sitting in my passenger’s seat. The elderly naked dead man who’d been riding shotgun in my cherry red Jeep Wrangler, aka Misery, for two days now. We were on a stakeout. Sort of. I was staking out a Mr. and Mrs. Foster, so I was definitely on a stakeout. No idea what Naked Dead Man was on. Considering the fact that he looked about 112, probably blood thinners. Cholesterol medication. And, judging from the state of his manhood, which I couldn’t stop seeing every single time I turned toward him, Viagra. If I were to hash-tag that moment, my status would read something like #impressed. [Read more…]

Review: Sixth Grave on the Edge by Darynda Jones

sixth graveReviewed by Jen

I loved 99% of this book.  It’s funny and irreverent.  The world-building is awesome. The characters are engaging.  And the plot is completely entertaining.  It was a great book. But that one percent that didn’t work for me was pretty significant. (I’ll get to that in a minute.)

If you haven’t read the previous books in this series, stop here.  You need to start with First Grave on the Right.  This review will reference spoilers from the previous books. [Read more…]

Review: Ash to Embers by CV Larkin

Ash to EmbersReviewed by Jen

I’ll give CV Larkin credit where it’s due. I really liked the world-building in this dark new urban fantasy series.  It’s not really like anything else I have read, which is part of the attraction. So many books in the genre feel like a rehash of something else, but this book never tries to cash in on someone else’s successful formula. It follows its own path and –for the first half especially– had me completely invested in both the core characters and their journey. [Read more…]