Carrie’s Favorite Books of 2014

2014Lots of great reads in 2014! I could’ve listed a few more but wanted to just give you my most favorite of the year. I especially loved favorite authors that started new series (Callihan, Andrews & Bennett) and new to me authors (Bowen). Bring on 2015!

New Adult

hook upThe Hook Up by Kristen Callihan – Callihan’s foray into New Adult is a smash and my #1 reread of 2014. Star quarterback falls head long for a smart sarcastic girl who wants nothing to do with him. Fantastic tension with well-developed relatable characters with a seriously steamy story made this riveting read.

Click to purchase: The Hook Up

The Year We Fell Down by Sarina Bowen – A new to me author that I’ve fallen for. The first book in the Ivy League series is a sentimental coming of age story with a strong heroine who is navigating a different kind of freshman year after a hockey accident landed her in a wheelchair. It gave me all the angsty butterflies that a first love can give.

Click to purchase: The Year We Fell Down

Contemporary Romance

playPlay by Kylie Scott – Scott’s 2nd book in her Stage Dive series brings absolute fun to readers with the over-the-top antics of Mal the drummer and his ever-suffering sweet paramour, Anne. This couple is the embodiment of the old saying that there’s a match for everyone. Scott does a great job of balancing the silliness with real emotion. The couple transitions effortlessly to an affectionate friendship to a deeper relationship with relative ease. The few roadblocks that are thrown their way seem natural to the story and overcome in a mature way.

Click to purchase: Play

devils gameDevil’s Game by Joanna Wylde – My favorite of the series so far. This book is MC version of the Capulets and Montagues. Readers feel for the couple as they struggle with loyalty to their MC families and whether or not they can overcome great hurdles to make their relationship work.  Both hero & heroine are a great mix of badass and sweet and get their HEA because of the work they chose to put in to get there.

Click to purchase: Devil’s Game

Historical Romance

Romancing the Duke by Tessa Dare – I thought I was going to miss Dare’s Spindle Cove series but then she went and gave readers this book. It is so swoony!!! A Grumpy reclusive randy duke meets passionate spinster with a spine and the sparks fly. I dare anyone not to thoroughly enjoy this story!

Click to purchase: Romancing the Duke

Paranormal Romance

bitter spiritsBitter Spirits by Jenn Bennett – In 1920’s San Francisco, a bootlegger needs a medium’s help to get rid of ghosts sent to him by rival Chinese gangs. The fast-paced action, unique characters and setting with a slow burn romance that burns up the sheet make it impossible to stop turning pages. The mystery has enough twists and turns that I was still puzzling nearly up to the reveal. The setting was unique enough that I felt like I had actually learned something new. The author doesn’t skimp on the side characters either.

Click to purchase: Bitter Spirits

Burn for Me by Ilona Andrews – Officially, this is categorized as PNR, but it really reads as an Urban Fantasy. The Andrews writing team have hit it out of the park again with a fresh new series with a strong compassionate PI heroine and an enigmatic sexy ex-soldier hero. The pacing was pitch perfect keeping the reader in constant suspense.

Click to purchase: Burn for Me

Romantic Suspense

into the shadowsInto the Shadows by Carolyn Crane What happens you take the princess to a former mob boss and add her father’s former right hand man and ex-lover who is really working undercover for a super spy ring? Crane has, once again, written intelligent unusual characters with a fast paced story full of high suspense and sexual tension.

Click to purchase: Into The Shadows

Honor Reclaimed by Tonya Burrows – Fans of Cindy Gerard and Kaylea Cross will love this military romance series although this book can be read as a stand alone. The writing is well paced and captivating; I could not put my kindle down. I highly recommend this book for a high octane action packed romantic suspense with a truly tortured hero and a sweet yet tenacious heroine.

Click to purchase: Honor Reclaimed

Be sure to check out Jaimie’s, Shelly’s, Janell’s and Jen’s Favorites too!

Comments

  1. I listened to Into the Shadows and Burn for Me and really enjoyed both. I’m not familiar with the others. I will have to look into them. Thanks.

    • Part of the reason why I love end of year lists is because there are always books that I missed. Hope you take a chance on some of these!

Speak Your Mind

*