Archives for September 2015

Review: Stupid Love by Cindy Miles

stupid loveReviewed by Janell

This is the New Adultiest book I’ve read in a while. I give it credit for sucking me into a world of college seniors, with their hanging out at bars, bungee jumping, group breakfasts, detailed outfits, and cutesy nicknames. And I fully admit that it made me feel old. But this isn’t about me!

Memory Thibodeaux survived a brain tumor when she was young, and since then she’s been living life to the fullest. She’s a Cajun girl, and I could hear her accent so strongly. The author didn’t write “sounds like” dialect, she got the point across with Memory’s cadence of speech and occasional smattering of French Creole. Memory has a group of friends who have been together since their freshman year at a college in Texas, and they know her as the party girl, always up for a dare, or a sexy guy. [Read more…]

Review: The Stolen Mackenzie Bride by Jennifer Ashley

stolen mackenzie brideReviewed Jen

I love this series. I really do. So much so that when I got my hands on this book, there might have been a small amount of dancing. Sadly, I may have celebrated a bit too early. This was a very difficult book for me to connect to. I found myself wanting to skim and even put it down at times. This was such a far cry from my favorite MacKenzie books, it almost like it was from an entirely different author.

This story doesn’t feature the MacKenzie men we know and love. It jumps back in time to their ancestor, Old Malcolm, and told his story set during the Jacobite Rebellion. I’m ok with an unknown hero, but what I really did not enjoy was how heavily she emphasized the historical elements throughout the book. It’s not that I don’t appreciate historical accuracy. I don’t want things to be wrong. But beyond that, I don’t care. I don’t enjoy my romance steeped in a history lesson. That is how I felt reading this, and I just wanted to get ahead to the “good parts” (ie. The romance.) [Read more…]

Joint Review: The Shameless Hour by Sarina Bowen

shameless hourReviewed by Carrie & Janell

Bella Hall is a confident self-assured college student and manager of the Harkness men’s hockey team.  She doesn’t flinch in a room full of naked hockey players in order to get the job she love’s done. She has no problem putting any of the hockey guys or coaches in their place and asserting her position. Bella also is a very sex positive woman who pays no mind to those who deem her “promiscuous”.  She loves life and is mostly happy with her life until suffering a bit of a hit when she discovered that her friend-with-benefits, Graham, finally came out of the closet. [Read more…]

Review: The Taming of Malcolm Grant by Paula Quinn

taming of malcolm grantReviewed by Jen

I’ve read a couple of Paula Quinn’s Highlander books here and there, but I’ll admit, when I saw that huge birth chart in the beginning of this story, I was a bit intimidated. But fear not, you don’t have to be a longtime reader to jump into this book. It works just fine as a standalone.

Malcolm is a known rake who believes himself incapable of love. For a long time, he was content to love ’em and leave ’em, but for the past few years, he has taken a step back from his promiscuous ways. The flings only left him feeling emptier, so now he is trying celibacy on for size. That doesn’t mean his younger brother has to suffer the same fate, though. As the story begins, Malcolm is taking Cailean to his old favorite brothel to, at long last, lose his virginity. [Read more…]

Review: Shadows at Midnight by Amanda Bonilla

shadows at midnightReviewed by Jen

I feel so many things right now. Angry. Sad. Frustrated.

Don’t get me wrong. I loved this book. I fell back into the series like I never left. It moved so quickly and effortlessly, I blew through the pages. I fell in love with the characters all over again. And it all blew up at the 97% mark. Blew. Up. Hence …the feelings.

The beginning of the book drew me in right away. Darian is in the clutches of the evil Padma. She is being brutally tortured, both mentally and physically. Amanda Bonilla does a great job juxtaposing the horrors with Darian’s fond memories of Tyler. The flashbacks helped bring back how much I have longed for these two to have a happy ending. And it makes their reunion all the more sweet when it finally happens. [Read more…]

Review: In Still Darkness by Dianne Duvall

in still darknessReviewed by Jen

Even novellas in this series manage to satisfy me. You don’t need to read this story to keep up with the series arc. In fact, some of the events take place at the same time as previous books. But fans of the Immortal Guardians wouldn’t want to miss the chance to meet Richart’s mysterious Jenna and watch them fall in love!

Richart first lays eyes on Jenna when he saves her from a vampire attack. In her bite-induced haze, she lays an unforgettable kiss on him and ever since, he has been looking for excuses to see her again. He poses as a shopper in the store where she works, until he works up the nerve to ask her out. From there, the attraction between them only grows. [Read more…]

Review: Phantom Shadows by Dianne Duvall

phantom shadowsReviewed by Jen

I so enjoy a redemption story and I’ve been hoping to get one for Bastien from the beginning. It didn’t disappoint. In fact, I’m learning that the Immortal Guardians series is pretty much guaranteed to deliver exactly what I am looking for, every time I pick up another installment.

Bastien is almost universally despised by the other Immortals. After all, he was essentially the villain of book 1, but it wasn’t his fault. He truly believed that he was a vampire and that the Immortals were the enemy. He thought that he was doing the right thing in targeting them, especially Roland, who he believed had killed his sister. A couple of years have passed since Seth took him into the fold, but old hatred dies hard. [Read more…]

Review: Sacked by Jen Frederick

sackedReviewed by Carrie

I picked this story up because it was recommended for fans of Elle Kennedy and Kristen Callihan’s sports-themed NA books.  This is my first book by this author.  I have a feeling I might be in the minority, but I had mixed feelings about the writing and story.

Knox Masters is the BMOC on campus as the football team captain and defensive star.  Sure, the girls all flock to him, but he’s got no time for that nonsense. He’s got a national title to win because he’s planning on skipping out on senior year to enter the draft early.  Knox’s dedication to the sport of football is legendary amongst his teammates because he believes sex with mess with his football mojo.  Yes, Dorothy, there appears to be a unicorn in the midst because here is a sexy buff testosterone laden college aged football player who is a VIRGIN.  Yet, when a unicorn spots its heart’s desire, it’s fate. [Read more…]

Review: Led Astray: The Best of Kelley Armstrong

led astrayReviewed by Jen

I really enjoyed this collection of Kelley Armstrong short stories. Some were part of her existing worlds, while others were standalones. Almost all were winners for me and I think any fan would enjoy this.

Rakshashi – This standalone short gives us a peek inside the life of an immortal woman, bound in servitude, to act as a hand of justice to her masters. It’s supposed to be temporary, until she can balance the scales of her wrongdoing in life, but her actions line the pockets of those who could free her. After hundreds of years, she is ready to make her move. So how far will she go in her bid for freedom? I enjoyed this and would happily read more in this universe. [Read more…]

Carrie’s DNF Reviews – Fall 2015

HIS LOVER TO PROTECTby Carrie

Unfortunately, not every book works out for a reader.  I really hate to DNF a book but given the sheer amount of books out there, I don’t think it’s fair to continue to struggle through a book that is clearly not working for me. Having said that, what doesn’t work for me, might for you so don’t be afraid to try one of these books!

His Lover to Protect by Katee Robert   – DNF at 38%

Recovering wounded former para-rescuer, Luke Jackson is roped in by his military buddy to keep a discreet watch over his buddy’s soon to be sister in-law. Luke is too busy up in his head ruminating over his recent medical discharge and sorry state of his life, when his tail gets the drop on him. [Read more…]