Review: Sacked by Jen Frederick

sackedReviewed by Carrie

I picked this story up because it was recommended for fans of Elle Kennedy and Kristen Callihan’s sports-themed NA books.  This is my first book by this author.  I have a feeling I might be in the minority, but I had mixed feelings about the writing and story.

Knox Masters is the BMOC on campus as the football team captain and defensive star.  Sure, the girls all flock to him, but he’s got no time for that nonsense. He’s got a national title to win because he’s planning on skipping out on senior year to enter the draft early.  Knox’s dedication to the sport of football is legendary amongst his teammates because he believes sex with mess with his football mojo.  Yes, Dorothy, there appears to be a unicorn in the midst because here is a sexy buff testosterone laden college aged football player who is a VIRGIN.  Yet, when a unicorn spots its heart’s desire, it’s fate.

Eliot Campbell hoped that transferring to Western State with her brother, Jack, would give her a fresh start.  She just wants to keep her head down and get her degree done.  Unfortunately, a familial responsibility and a certain football player keep getting in her way.  Ellie knows what kind of disaster comes with dating her brother’s teammate, but Knox is just so charmingly unflappable that she eventually gives in.

Knox and Ellie were great characters with depth.  Knox was cocky and determined but very sweet in his adoration of Ellie.  Even as Ellie is a strong woman, the lingering hurts she had to deal with made her sympathetic and vulnerable.  I don’t know if I’ve read hotter sex scenes with a male virgin.  Knox may have not sealed the deal but has a plenty dirty imagination!!

There were a bunch of little things that continued to irritate me throughout the book (like being reminded every few pages that Knox is an NFL-caliber athlete and using “laying pipe” as a sex euphemism plenty of times) but the contrived rushed ending made me shake my head and lose a bit of love for the story.

My favorite thing was Knox’s teammates.  They were hilarious!!   All of their banter and “serious” discussions and total ridiculousness had me laughing out loud several times.  I would happily read an entire series with them just hanging out in the locker room.

Overall, even with my issues with the writing, I recommend this fast and furiously funny romance for those that enjoy a sexy sports themed new adult.

Rating: B-/C+

*ARC courtesy of Bocci PR

Click to purchase: Amazon

Sacked
by Jen Frederick
Release Date: September 6, 2015

Comments

  1. I’ve just bought this one even though the review is mixed. I like the sound of the premise and the fact it’s funny. Don’t always find that in romances! Will let you know what I think 🙂

Speak Your Mind

*