Review: City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare

city of heavenly fireReviewed by Jen

I know there was much debate over the merits of Cassandra Clare’s move to extend The Mortal Instruments series beyond the initial trilogy. I was kind of lukewarm over books 4 and 5, but I definitely feel like this final installment gives the series the ending it deserves.  It has some issues, don’t get me wrong.  But as far as the main story arc and the core cast of characters we have followed from the beginning, Clare delivers a fitting climax and a resolution that I found very satisfying. [Read more…]

Review: The Bastard by Inez Kelley

bastardReviewed by Carrie

Fans of BDB, Lords of the Underworld or Lords of Deliverance, you’re going to want to pay attention because this book is right up your alley!  Kelley has put out a fresh twist to a group of badass warriors, except that these warriors are not paranormal but straight from the annals of history. [Read more…]

Review: City of Lost Souls by Cassandra Clare

city of lost soulsReviewed by Jen

I liked this installment better than the last one.  It still doesn’t quite have the same epic resonance as the initial trilogy, but Cassandra Clare has definitely upped the ante in this second arc with the resurrection of Sebastian. He doesn’t feel the same caliber of villain as Valentine, to be sure, but part of that is due to the fact we see quite a lot of him here, and almost the entire time, he’s wearing his mask of humanity.

It’s been about two weeks since Jace brought Sebastian back to life and the two have been missing ever since.  All of the Clave members have been searching for them, to no avail.  [Read more…]

Review: City of Fallen Angels by Cassandra Clare

city of fallen angelsReviewed by Jen

I came to this series late, so when I read City of Glass, I knew there were more books ahead.  It still felt like an ending, of course. But the question is, should it have stayed the ending?  Well, I can see the arguments for both answers.  When people like a series, more books will help feed the hunger for more of those beloved characters. I, personally, was looking forward to finally getting to see Jace and Clary be together, without the cloud of incest hanging over their heads.  But what I didn’t really stop to consider is… there has to be conflict in order to move the series further. [Read more…]

Review: City of Glass by Cassandra Clare

city of glassReviewed by Jen

Finally.  In this finale to the original Mortal Instruments trilogy, Cassandra Clare rewards readers for suffering through three books of angst… by giving us everything we’ve been waiting for.  Is it perfect?  No.  Sometimes the foreshadowing is heavy-handed; the emotional drama is over the top; and the resolution predictable.  Did that make it any less satisfying? Not really. [Read more…]

Review: City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare

city of ashesReviewed by Jen

Never in a million years would I have expected to come to hate the word “brother” with such vigor as I have over the course of this book. Part of that may be because Cassandra Clare took every possible opportunity to rub salt in this wound that she possibly could.  Yes, I get it. You are evil. You made them siblings. Or at least you made them THINK they are siblings.  But do you have to mock my pain?  Do you have to mention it every other page? Do you have to ruin a perfectly good word… to the point that the very sight of it makes my blood pressure rise?  (*sigh*) Of course you do. [Read more…]

Review: City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

city of bonesReviewed by Jen

I can’t remember the last time that I could say I liked a movie better than I liked the book it was based on.  Not that the movie version of City of Bones was a cinematic masterpiece, but in this case, I think I preferred it… at least in some respects.  I’m not sure if my reactions to the written word would have been the same if I had not seen the movie first.  I liked the book well enough. The world-building, in particular, was quite good.  There were some things, though, that kept the story from crossing the line from good to great. [Read more…]

Review: The Guardians Short Stories & Novellas

hot spell“Reviewed by Jen

Falling for Anthony” (Guardians 0.5) – This story may fall chronologically before the events of Demon Angel, but I am so glad that I read it after I was a couple of books into the series. I really don’t think I would have appreciated Anthony and Emily’s story without the perspective that the first two full length books gave me.  We’ve heard Colin mention his sister Emily many times –as well as his own turning into a vampire. This is the story of that time in their lives and how Colin’s best friend Anthony fits into the picture. [Read more…]

Review: Demon Blood

demon bloodReviewed by Jen

My goodness, this a is great series!  Not only did I enjoy the romance, but the story was fantastic too.  I loved the characters. I loved the world-building. The pacing. The dialogue. The sex.  The climax.  In a word… it ROCKED.

This is Deacon and Rosalie’s book, and it was set up beautifully in Demon Forged.  Rosalie was the Guardian who was tortured by the nephalim.  Deacon was the vampire forced to betray Irena in order to save his partners.  Only, they were already dead.  Now he is a pariah among his people.  The only thing that keeps him putting one foot in front of the other is his mission to kill demons.  They are to blame for the destruction of his community and for killing his loved ones.  Now, he will take down as many as can… even if he ends up going down with them. [Read more…]

Review: Savage Angel

Reviewed by Jen

Sara’s life and family heritage have always been about protecting others. It’s part of her lineage as a Nephalim and as the soon-to-be-head of her family’s security firm.  A new job is turning out to be more than she bargained for, however.  The client is the father of a one-night-stand she has never been able to get over. And to make matters worse, her former lover is back to complicate things even further.

Gideon has just returned from a gut-wrenching tour in Afghanistan.  While he escaped physically intact, he is nursing some serious emotional wounds.  He is not prepared to come face-to-face with Sara again.  When he does, he handles it… badly.  He uses cruelty and anything else he can think of to push her away, until suddenly, he changes his mind and lets her back in.  Gideon and Sara end up working together to protect his father and to solve the mystery of who is targeting him.  This, as they resume the fiery relationship they started years ago.

For me, this second installment in the Earth Angels series is much better than the first.  And in case you were wondering, the two books are total stand-alones and you don’t need to read one to pick up the other.  But even with the vast improvement, there were still some major problems here.  The big one is in the development of the relationship.  Gideon’s change of heart, going from a total bastard to wanting Sara back, was so abrupt it gave me whiplash.  (Plus, it baffled me that any self-respecting woman could forgive his asshattery so easily.)  Then, they are in love after four days together, two or three of which Sara was unconscious.  Um, no.  Also, the villain was painfully obvious. So much so, I was sure he would be a red herring. But no.  It was him.

Like I said, though, this one was an improvement. There is more character development here. I felt like I knew Sara and Gideon on a basic level and understood most of their motivations.  We had a little time for sexual tension to grow, so the bedroom action was more satisfying.

But, overall, I’m thinking this series isn’t for me.

Rating: C

*ARC Provided by Carina Press via NetGalley

Click to purchase: Amazon
Savage Angel
by Stacy Gail
Release Date: February 4, 2013
Publisher: Carina Press