Review: Willing Victim by Cara McKenna

willing-victimReviewed by Joanna

This is a novel which carries a bit of shock value to it, in that it’s a story about a kink. A rape fantasy kink to be exact. Bear with me whilst I walk you through it.

Girl sees big handsome guy defend someone in the street, fancies him, asks him out, he says no because he’s into stuff most women don’t like. So far, so intriguing. But when he tells her what he likes, or actually, his current lover does most of the explaining, our heroine doesn’t run screaming. Which is good, as otherwise there would be no story. [Read more…]

Review: Give It All by Cara McKenna

give it allReviewed by Carrie

Cara McKenna is back with her second book in the Desert Dogs series set in the small desert town of Fortuity, Nevada.  The murder of a childhood friend has brought the self-named Desert Dogs back together to figure out what is going on in their small town ever since a casino developer burst onto the scene.  Just as they uncover one secret, ten more pop up. [Read more…]

Review: Lay It Down by Cara McKenna

lay it downReviewed by Carrie

This book was SO not what I had thought it was going to be.  I thought I was getting a MC book in the vein of Joanna Wylde or Madeline Sheehan, but what I got was a murder mystery with a touch of paranormal.  It kept my brain whirring the whole time I was reading, trying to piece together the clues. [Read more…]

Review: Her Best Laid Plans by Cara McKenna

her best laid plansReviewed by Carrie

I’ve been really digging reading the Cosmo Red Hot series being put out by Harlequin.  I don’t usually go for novellas but these are turning out to be fun and sexy stories that I have been looking forward to reading.  I love Cara McKenna’s unconventional characters and the woman can write some scorching sex.  To put the cherry on top, the story is set in Ireland (my fave)!

Jamie Webb is going to Ireland to get her groove back following a bad breakup.  She’s hoping a vacation fling might help get her back in the game after putting her life on hold so her boyfriend could achieve all his dreams only to dump her in the end.  [Read more…]

Review: Hard Time by Cara McKenna

hard timeReviewed by Carrie

I really enjoy reading Cara McKenna’s brand of erotica.  Her characters are salt-of-the-earth type people with relatable issues.  It seems with each subsequent novel, McKenna tries to push her boundaries to see how far she can take her readers.  I was immediately intrigued to find out what path a convict and a librarian would take on their romance.  I’m glad I trusted the author because it turned out to be really emotionally palpable read. [Read more…]